[ September Full List | Reply ]

Re: Growspot! No way only $2,500!
From Jeff S on 20 Sept '00
replying to Re: Growspot! No way only $2,500! posted by Patrick R

>>
>>Growspot:
>>
>>What a nice Site. How long did it take you to do it, including planning,
>>writing the text, working out the navigation, scanning all those graphics and setting up
>>the shopping cart and database. Bet a pro wouldn't do it for less than
>>$10,000, maybe far more. What about search engine optimization, and
>>tweaking everything after the launch...time, time, time.
>>
>>Only problem is that the pages seem a little off balance, with the
>>sign-up form often being the only thing in the left-most column. Logo
>>is also too far to the left...the artistic balance isn't correct at
>>least on my Windows machine.
>>
>>BTW,I'm just an amateur who does his own sites.
>>
>
>Thank You for the compliment!
>
>I'm just an amateur too, this has been my pet project that I've put time in as it came up. I've been playing with it for about a year now, but didn't get serious until this spring. That's when I bought the shopping cart software from Make-a-Store. I'll admit, it was expensive, but it's been very stable, although the back-end leaves something to be desired. (I had to make my own database to handle the products, then upload them manually to the shopping cart).
>
>The problems you mentioned with the minor glitches and such is just an artifact of the stop-start (and amateur) nature of the work I did. Luckily, I learned something in the process, I just knew that if I let those minor details force me to start over, that I would just keep starting over, and would never make anything out of it, so I focused on getting it up, then revising.
>
>For the search engine optimization, I'm using Deadlock, so I don't have to worry about it.
>
>My big headache right now is marketing and advertising, and the revision process.
>